Team 3 : Plasticity in cortical networks and epilepsy (Poncer / Lévi)

Team leaders : Jean-Christophe Poncer (DR2 Inserm) and Sabine Lévi (DR2 CNRS)

Team 3: Plasticity in cortical networks and epilepsy (Poncer / Lévi) Team website

Objectives and projects
Our team explores the properties of cortical synapses and networks, the mechanisms governing their plasticity and their alteration in the pathology. Our work focuses in particular on GABAergic synapses and networks underlying inhibitory neurotransmission in the adult brain.
Our aim is to understand the molecular mechanisms that regulate the organization, the function and the plasticity of GABAergic synapses and networks. We hope to identify therapeutic targets of interest for disorders involving malfunction of GABA neurotransmission, such as epilepsy and Rett syndrome as well as psychiatric conditions such as bipolar disorders.
Currently, our main projects focus on:
- The neuronal mechanisms of chloride ion transport: since GABAA receptors are mainly permeable to chloride ions, the currents they carry are directly influenced by transmembrane gradients of chloride in neurons. We study the function and regulation of the chloride/cation co-transporter KCC2, which exerts a major control over these gradients in mature cortical neurons (Chamma et al J Neurosci 2013), as well the functional impact of its down-regulation, as observed in many neurological and psychiatric disorders (Gauvain et al PNAS 2011 ; Chevy et al J Neurosci 2015).

- Synaptic recruitment of GABAergic interneurons: GABAergic interneurons are recruited by the activity of cortical networks through activation of glutamatergic, excitatory synapses impinging from neighboring and distant principal neurons. These synapses therefore critically influence the ability of GABAergic interneurons to detect and adapt their activity to network activity, in particular during both normal and pathological rhythmic activities. We explore the function and plasticity rules of these synapses in identified interneurons populations (Le Roux et al J Physiol 2013) and their alteration in animal models of temporal lobe epilepsy.

- Synaptic anchoring of GABAA receptors: GABAA receptors rapidly diffuse in the neuronal membrane but are captured at inhibitory synapses, in particular through interactions with the scaffolding protein gephyrin. This anchoring determines the number of synaptic receptors and therefore the function of GABAergic synapses. We examine the molecular determinants of GABAA receptor anchoring, its modulation by neuronal activity (Lévi et al Neuron 2008) as well as the impact of human mutations affecting GABAA receptors or gephyrin and associated with neurological and psychiatric disorders (Eugène et al J Neurosci 2013 ; Bouthour et al Cereb Cortex 2012). We also explore the short- and long-term consequences of chronic caffeine exposure, in particular during early postnatal development, on GABAergic synapse stabilization.

Experimental approaches
We use a multidisciplinary approach combining:
• in vitro (patch clamp, LFP and MEA) and in vivo (ECoG) electrophysiology
• anterograde tracing and genetic expression/suppression using viral vectors
• optogenetics
• optical imaging on live neurons
• super-resolution microscopy (STED/PALM/STORM)
• single molecule tracking using quantum dots, sptPALM et uPAINT
• biochemistry and proteomics

Composition of the team
Team leaders: Jean Christophe Poncer (DR2 Inserm) and Sabine Lévi (DR2 CNRS)
• Marianne Renner, PU UPMC
• Eric Schwartz, MC UPMC
• Marion Russeau, TR INSERM
• Sana Al Awabdh, postdoctoral fellow INSERM
• Jessica Pressey, postdoctoral fellow INSERM
• Yo Otsu, postdoctoral fellow UPMC
• Marie Goutierre, graduate student UPMC
• Ferran Gomez-Castro, graduate student UPMC
• Clémence Simonnet, graduate student UPMC
• Yousra Kouidri, undergraduate, ENS Cachan

Former team members:
• Emmanuel Eugène (IE1 INSERM)
• Martin Heubl (Laboratoires Servier, Paris)
• Quentin Chevy (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, NY, USA)
• Ingrid Chamma (Institut Magendie, Bordeaux)
• Nicolas Le Roux (Ministère des Finances)
• Michèle Carnaud (retired)
• Carolina Cabezas (Madrid, Espagne)
• Grégory Gauvain (Institut de la Vision, Paris)
• Katherine Matho (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, NY, USA)
• Walid Bouthour (Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève)
• Félix Leroy (Columbia Univ., NY, USA)

Funding and affiliation
Our team has received the "FRM Team" label in 2014, from the Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale (FRM). Our projects are also currently supported by INSERM, the Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP), Bio-Psy LabEx, Fédération pour la Recherche sur le Cerveau (FRC), Fondation Française pour la Recherche sur l'Epilepsie (FFRE), Association Française du Syndrome de Rett (AFSR) and Agence Nationale pour la Recherche (ANR). Our team is affiliated to INSERM, UPMC, the BioPsy Laboratory of Excellence and the Ecole des neurosciences de Paris network.

Equipe 3 : Plasticité des réseaux corticaux et épilepsie (Poncer / Lévi)

Plasticité des réseaux corticaux et épilepsie

Présentation

Equipe 3 : Plasticité des réseaux corticaux et épilepsie (Poncer / Lévi) Site Web

Objectif et projets

Notre équipe explore les propriétés des synapses et circuits corticaux, les mécanismes qui gouvernent leur plasticité ainsi que leur altération dans la pathologie. Nos travaux se concentrent notamment sur les synapses et réseaux GABAergiques qui sont à l'origine de la transmission inhibitrice dans le cerveau adulte.
Notre objectif est de comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires qui régissent l'organisation, la fonction et la plasticité des synapses et réseaux GABAergiques. Nous espérons ainsi identifier des cibles thérapeutiques d'intérêt pour les affections neurologiques impliquant un dysfonctionnement de la transmission GABAergique, telles que l'épilepsie et le syndrome de Rett mais également certaines affections psychiatriques comme le trouble bipolaire.
Nos principaux projets actuels concernent :
- Les mécanismes neuronaux de transport des ions chlorure : les récepteurs GABAA étant majoritairement perméables aux ions chlorure, les courants qu'ils portent sont directement influencés par les gradients transmembranaires de ces ions dans les neurones. Nous étudions la fonction et la régulation du transporteur ionique KCC2 qui contrôle de façon prédominante ces gradients (Chamma et al J Neurosci 2013), ainsi que les conséquences de son extinction observée dans plusieurs affections neurologiques et psychiatriques (Gauvain et al PNAS 2011 ; Chevy et al J Neurosci 2015).

- Le recrutement synaptique des interneurones GABAergiques : les interneurones GABAergiques sont recrutés par l'activité des réseaux corticaux via l'activation des synapses glutamatergiques qu'ils reçoivent, en provenance de neurones principaux voisins ou distants. Ces synapses jouent donc un rôle déterminant dans la capacité des interneurones GABAergiques à adapter leur activité à celle du réseau, notamment lors d'activités rythmiques normales ou pathologiques. Nous explorons la fonction et les règles de plasticité de ces synapses dans populations identifiées d'interneurones GABAergiques (Le Roux et al J Physiol 2013) et leur altération dans des modèles animaux d'épilepsie expérimentale.

- L'ancrage synaptique des récepteurs du GABA : les récepteurs GABAA diffusent rapidement dans la membrane neuronale mais sont capturés au niveau des synapses inhibitrices, notamment par leur ancrage à la protéine d'échafaudage géphyrine. Cet ancrage détermine le nombre de récepteurs synaptiques et donc la fonction de la synapse GABAergique. Nous examinons les déterminants moléculaires de cet ancrage, sa modulation par l'activité neuronale (Lévi et al Neuron 2008) ainsi que les conséquences de mutations humaines, affectant les récepteurs GABAA et la géphyrine, associées à diverses affections neurologiques (Eugène et al J Neurosci 2013 ; Bouthour et al Cereb Cortex 2012). Nous explorons également les effets d'une exposition chronique à la caféine sur la stabilité des synapses GABAergiques, notamment au cours du développement postnatal précoce.

Approches expérimentales

Nous utilisons une approche pluridisciplinaire combinant :
• électrophysiologie in vitro (enregistrements en patch clamp, LFP et MEA) et in vivo (ECoG)
• traçages antérogrades et expression/suppression génétique par vecteurs viraux
• optogénétique
• imagerie optique sur cellules vivantes
• microscopie super-résolutive (STED/PALM/STORM)
• suivi de molécules uniques par quantum dot, sptPALM et uPAINT
• biochimie et protéomique

Composition de l'équipe

Responsable d'équipe : Jean Christophe Poncer (DR2 Inserm) et Sabine Lévi (DR2 CNRS)

• Marianne Renner, PU UPMC
• Eric Schwartz, MC UPMC
• Marion Russeau, TR INSERM
• Sana Al Awabdh, postdoctorante INSERM
• Jessica Pressey, postdoctorante INSERM
• Yo Otsu, postdoctorant UPMC
• Marie Goutierre, Doctorante UPMC
• Ferran Gomez-Castro, Doctorant UPMC
• Yousra Kouidri, M1, ENS Cachan


Anciens membres de l'équipe :

• Emmanuel Eugène (IE1, INSERM)
• Martin Heubl (Laborato•ires Servier, Paris)
• Quentin Chevy (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, NY, USA)
• Ingrid Chamma (Institut Magendie, Bordeaux)
• Nicolas Le Roux (Ministère des Finances)
• Michèle Carnaud (retraitée)
• Carolina Cabezas (Madrid, Espagne)
• Grégory Gauvain (Institut de la Vision, Paris)
• Katherine Matho (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, NY, USA)
• Walid Bouthour (Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève)
• Félix Leroy (Columbia Univ., NY, USA)

Financement et affiliation

Notre équipe a été labélisée en 2014 par la Fondation pour la Recherche Médicale (FRM). Nos projets sont par ailleurs soutenus actuellement par l'INSERM, le Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP), le LabEx Bio-Psy, la Fédération pour la Recherche sur le Cerveau (FRC), la Fondation Française pour la Recherche sur l’Epilepsie (FFRE), l’Association Française du Syndrome de Rett (AFSR) et l'Agence Nationale pour la Recherche (ANR). Notre équipe est affiliée à l’INSERM et à l’UPMC ainsi que laboratoire d’excellence BioPsy et au réseau Ecole des Neurosciences de Paris.

      

 

 

 

 

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Twitter