Team 2 : Cortical development and pathology (Francis / Goutebroze)

Team leaders : Fiona Francis (DR1 CNRS) and Laurence Goutebroze (CR1 CNRS)

Using molecular and cellular biology, our group questions the normal functions during development of three cortical dysplasia proteins (Eml1, Caspr2, Dcx) associated with the cytoskeleton and the plasma membrane, and effects of their mutation.

Summary

We focus principally on three proteins mutated in brain malformations or more subtle cortical abnormalities in human. Cortical malformations are frequent causes of drug-resistant epilepsy and intellectual disability. More subtle abnormalities may be present in idiopathic and mesial temporal lobe epilepsies and in neuropsychiatric disorders. Cortical defects can arise through abnormal neuronal proliferation, migration and/or connectivity. We use the Eml1, Caspr2 and Dcx proteins as points of entry to better understand normal cortical development and physiopathology. We found that Eml1, likely to be involved in microtubule dynamics, is mutated in severe subcortical heterotopia, associated with mis-positioned neurons in the white matter. Its role in cortical development is currently unknown. We study Eml1 in mouse neuronal progenitors and post-mitotic neurons and question potentially novel mechanisms leading to heterotopia. Mutations in Caspr2, an adhesion protein, are found in a wide spectrum of disorders, including syndromic epilepsy and autism. Better known for its roles at the nodes of Ranvier, its neurodevelopmental functions have been little-studied. It may be essential for adhesive capacities of migrating neurons and during the formation of synapses at the axonal initial segment, hypotheses we are testing. We also question the consequences of patient mutations on these functions. DCX, a microtubule-associated protein is mutated in heterotopia and severe brain gyral abnormalities such as lissencephaly. Dcx knockout mice are an excellent model to study aberrant connectivity and hyperexcitability related to migration defects, epilepsy and behavioral abnormalities. Studying mutant mice and patient mutations (in collaboration with clinicians) for these three proteins will reveal novel insights into the causes and consequences of abnormal neuronal positioning and connectivity, related to cortical malformations and neuropsychiatric disorders.

Research project

Malformations of cortical development are frequent causes of drug-resistant epilepsy and intellectual disability1. At least 40% of intractable epilepsy patients are estimated to have severe cortical malformations, and more subtle abnormalities may be underestimated in idiopathic epilepsy2, in mesial temporal lobe epilepsy3 and in neuropsychiatric disorders (e.g. 4 and see below). Cortical defects can arise through abnormal neuronal proliferation, migration and/or connectivity, and many neurodevelopmental genes play roles in several of these steps. Of interest, some mutated genes can give rise to either severe malformations or more subtle abnormalities in patients, depending on the mutation. The molecular and cellular mechanisms involved in cortex development, and physiopathology related to gene mutations, are still being elucidated. We choose to focus on the roles of 3 proteins (Eml1, Caspr2, Dcx), which when mutated in patients give rise to a spectrum of 'neuronal migration' disorders (cortical dysplasia). We use these proteins as points of entry to better understand key steps of normal and pathological cortical development. We are also completing studies on two further proteins (Tuba1a and SCHIP-1) involved in similar processes.
We recently identified Eml1, a protein binding to microtubules, mutated in subcortical heterotopia (SH) featuring many mis-positioned neurons in the white matter (Kielar* Phan Dinh Tuy*, in press). Eml1's role in cortical development was never previously studied and little is known about the biochemical pathways in which it acts. We study Eml1 in mouse neuronal progenitors and post-mitotic neurons and question novel mechanisms leading to SH (Project 1). Defects in the CNTNAP2 gene, coding for the adhesion protein Caspr2, have also recently been characterized in a wide and expanding spectrum of neurodevelopmental disorders, including cortical dysplasia-focal epilepsy syndrome (CDFE)5 and autism6. Caspr2 is well-known for its roles in axo-glial contacts at the Nodes of Ranvier7, but its neurodevelopmental functions are little-studied. We question molecular and cellular functions of Caspr2 during neuronal migration and synaptogenesis, and the consequences of CNTNAP2 variants identified in patients on these functions (Project 2). DCX, a microtubule-associated protein (MAP) which also interacts with membrane proteins, is mutated in SH with severe gyral abnormalities8,9. We question the connectivity of aberrantly positioned neurons, origins and rescue of hyperexcitability and behavioral deficits in the Dcx knockout (KO) mouse (Project 3).

Project 1 : Characterization of the Eml1 protein, mutated in HeCo mice, and its role in neuronal progenitors and post-mitotic neurons

Cellular causes of heterotopia have been thought to be primarily due to neuronal migration defects. Eml1 is expressed not only in post-mitotic neurons but also in dividing cells, and ectopic progenitors were identified in HeCo cortices (Fig 1). Extremely important neuronal progenitors during corticogenesis are radial glial (RG) cells, which give rise to other subtypes of progenitors and post-mitotic neurons, and serve as guides for migrating neurons (Fig 1)10. Primary abnormalities in RG cells may hence represent an overlooked cause of heterotopia in HeCo mice and patients with EML1 mutations.

General aim : To assess Eml1's function and to explore how its perturbation leads to cell detachment, ectopic progenitors, neuronal migration abnormalities and heterotopia.
Specific aims : We plan: (a) to study Eml1's function with respect to microtubules (MTs), and to search for other protein partners, which may give clues about its biological role; (b) to investigate the role of Eml1 during neuronal cell division and migration, and corresponding phenotypes in mouse brains lacking Eml1.

team2-1

Fig 1. (a,b) Heterotopia and cell accumulation in the dorso–medial regions of developing HeCo cortex. Nissl stained brain section from a HeCo mouse showing bilateral bands of subcortical heterotopic neurons (# b) compared to a wild–type section (a). (c) Schema of developing cortical wall. RG cells (red) have their soma in the VZ and long processes extending up to the pial surface. Other progenitors are shown in blue and cell division in green. (d) Electroporation of BLBP–Eml1–IRES–EGFP in HeCo reduces the number of BLBP–EGFP+ progenitors in the SVZ/IZ). (e) Vertical and oblique cleavage planes during division are shown. HeCo mouse brains show an excess of oblique cleavage planes which is likely to lead to asymmetric inheritance of the apical cell membrane and to cell leaving the VZ.

 

 

Project 2 : Characterizing neurodevelopmental roles of Caspr2

Heterozygous copy-number variations, missense variants and homozygous defects in CNTNAP2 have repeatedly been reported as susceptibility factors in developmental language delay, autism spectrum disorders, Gilles de la Tourette syndrome, epilepsy, CDFE, schizophrenia, and severe intellectual disability5,6,12-15. Analyses of KO mice (Cntnap2-/-) revealed impaired migration of cortical projection neurons and a reduced number of GABAergic interneurons, associated with asynchronous cortical activity and epileptic seizures16. Thus Caspr2 plays a critical role in neuronal migration. Furthermore, Caspr2 is enriched at the axon initial segments (AIS) of pyramidal cells from human temporal cortex (Fig 2), which act as sites for action potential initiation and are master integrators of synaptic events regulating excitability17,18. In the mammalian cerebral cortex, AIS are contacted by the axons of Chandelier type parvalbumin-positive GABAergic interneurons (Ch). Thus Caspr2 may be involved in the development and/or function of synapses between Ch and pyramidal cell AIS, and the mutations identified in patients may lead to hyperexcitability and network disfunction.

General aim : To elucidate essential roles of Caspr2 in immature neurons taking advantage of the availability of Cntnap2 mutant mice.
Specific aims : We plan: (a) to characterize fundamental molecular and cellular functions of Caspr2 during neuronal migration and synaptogenesis using in vivo (in utero electroporation) and in vitro (primary neurons and brain slices cultures; immunochemistry and time-lapse videomicroscopy, biochemistry) approaches; and (b) to determine the pathological consequences of mutations identified in patients on these functions.

team2-2Fig. 2. (A) AIS molecular complexes composed of ion channels (Nav, KCNQ2-3, Kv1), cell adhesion molecules and cytoskeletal scaffolds (adapted from17) (B). Immunolocalization of Nav and Caspr2 (arrows) at the AIS of a pyramidal cell (PC) from the human temporal cortex. (C) Photomicrographs showing the AIS of a PC immuno stained for Nav (Na+ Ch), Kv1.2 subunits and the GABA transporter GAT-1. (B, C, adapted from19).

 

 

 

 

 

Project 3 : Characterizing the origins, features and consequences of hyperexcitability in Dcx knockout (KO) cells

All type I lissencephaly gene mouse models show hippocampal heterotopia and more widespread interneuron defects as common features (20-24 and unpublished). In Dcx KO mice, CA3 hippocampal pyramidal cells are abnormally positioned (Fig 3) and this is associated with altered dendritic form, mossy fiber pruning defects, hyperexcitability and spontaneous epilepsy25,26. Our hypothesis is that aberrant position, connectivity and intrinsic defects of Dcx KO cells contribute to hyperexcitability. The molecular and cellular mechanisms leading to this phenotype and more generally behavioural and neuropsychiatric deficits, still not clear in Dcx KO mice which represent a well-characterized tool to further study this.

General aim: Fine characterization of the position and connectivity of heterotopic cells, links to epilepsy and behavioral deficits.
Specific aims: We plan to study (a) the emergence of Dcx KO neuron connectivity defects; (b) intrinsic factors affecting abnormal function; and (c) the cellular bases of behavioural abnormalities; (d) strategies during development for reducing hyperexcitability of abnormal Dcx KO cells.

team2-3

Fig 3. Hippocampal heterotopia in Dcx KO mice. Two CA3 pyramidal cell layers (internal and external) are observed and hyperexcitability is associated with both layers26. Fig 3. Hétérotopie hippocampique chez les souris Dcx KO. Deux couches (interne et externe) de cellules pyramidales CA3 sont observées et l'hyperexcitabilité est associée aux deux couches26.

References

1 Guerrini, R., Dobyns, W.B., & Barkovich, A.J. (2008) Trends Neurosci 31, 154-162.
2 Ben-Ari, Y. (2008) Trends Neurosci 31, 626-636.
3 Sloviter, R.S., Kudrimoti, H.S., Laxer, K.D. et al. (2004) Epilepsy Res 59, 123-153.
4 Kamiya, A., Kubo, K., Tomoda, T. et al. (2005) Nat Cell Biol 7, 1167-1178.
5 Strauss, K.A., Puffenberger, E.G., Huentelman, M.J. et al. (2006) N Engl J Med 354, 1370-1377.
6 Penagarikano, O. & Geschwind, D.H. (2012) Trends Mol Med 18, 156-163.
7 Susuki, K. & Rasband, M.N. (2008) Curr Opin Cell Biol 20, 616-623.
8 des Portes, V., Pinard, J.M., Billuart, P. et al. (1998) Cell 92, 51-61.
9 Francis, F., Koulakoff, A., Boucher, D. et al. (1999) Neuron 23, 247-256.
10 Noctor, S.C., Martinez-Cerdeno, V., & Kriegstein, A.R. (2007) Novartis Found Symp 288, 59-73; discussion 73-58, 96-58.
11 Hansen, D.V., Lui, J.H. Parker, P.R.L., & Kriegstein, A.R. (2010) Nature 464, 554-561.
12 Verkerk, A.J., Mathews, C.A., Joosse, M. et al. (2003) Genomics 82, 1-9.
13 Friedman, J.I., Vrijenhoek, T., Markx, S. et al. (2008) Mol Psychiatry 13, 261-266.
14 Zweier, C., de Jong, E.K., Zweier, M. et al. (2009) Am J Hum Genet 85, 655-666.
15 Gregor, A., Albrecht, B., Bader, I. et al. (2011) BMC Med Genet 12, 106.
16 Penagarikano, O., Abrahams, B.S., Herman, E.I. et al. (2011) Cell 147, 235-246.
17 Rasband, M.N. (2010) Nat Rev Neurosci 11, 552-562.
18 Kole, M.H. & Stuart, G.J. (2012) Neuron 73, 235-247.
19 Inda, M.C., DeFelipe, J., & Munoz, A. (2006) Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 103, 2920-2925.
20 Corbo, J.C., Deuel, T.A., Long, J.M. et al. (2002) J Neurosci 22, 7548-7557.
21 Kappeler, C., Saillour, Y., Baudoin, J.P. et al. (2006) Hum Mol Genet 15, 1387-1400.
22 Fleck, M.W., Hirotsune, S., Gambello, M.J. et al. (2000) J Neurosci 20, 2439-2450.
23 Nasrallah, I.M., McManus, M.F., Pancoast, M.M. et al. (2006) J Comp Neurol 496, 847-858.
24 Keays, D.A., Tian, G., Poirier, K. et al. (2007) Cell 128, 45-57.
25 Nosten-Bertrand, M., Kappeler, C., Dinocourt, C. et al. (2008) PLoS One 3, e2473.
26 Bazelot, M., Simonnet, J., Dinocourt, C. et al. (2012) Eur J Neurosci 35, 244-256.

Team composition

  • Fiona Francis DR1 CNRS (PhD, HDR)
  • Laurence Goutebroze CR1 CNRS (PhD, HDR)
  • Marika Nosten-Bertrand CR1 CNRS (PhD)
  • Marta Garcia MC UPMC (PhD)
  • Richard Belvindrah MC UPMC (PhD)
  • Anne Houllier AI INSERM
  • Gael Grannec TR UPMC
  • Sara Bizzotto PhD student
  • Ana Uzquiano-Lopez PhD student
  • Giorgia Canali PhD student
  • Melissa Stouffer, post-doc
  • Delfina Romero, post-doc

Collaborations

  • N. Bahi-Buisson Hôpital Necker Paris France
  • J Chelly Institut Cochin Paris France
  • F Artiguenave CNG Evry France
  • A Depaulis Institut Neurosciences (GIN) Grenoble France
  • A Houdusse Institut Curie Paris France
  • R Miles / J-C Poncer CR-ICM / IFM Paris France
  • R Olaso CNG Evry France
  • C. Legay Paris 5 Paris France
  • V Borrell Institute Neuroscience Alicante Spain
  • A Croquelois, E Welker
  • C Lebrand DBCM Lausanne Switzerland
  • D Keays IMP Vienna Austria
  • C Moores Birkbeck College London UK
  • R Bayliss University of Leicester Leicester UK
  • C Depienne ICM Paris France
  • C Faivre-Sarrailh CRN2M Marseille France
  • B Dargent CRN2M Marseille France

Funding

ANR, EU-DESIRE project. Fondation Bettencourt Schueller, Partenariat Hubert Curien (al Maqdisi), Fondation Jérôme Lejeune, Fondation Orange, Labex Bio-Psy.

Equipe 2 : Développement cortical et pathologie (Francis / Goutebroze)

Développement cortical et pathologie

Présentation

Par des approches de biologie cellulaire et moléculaire, notre groupe étudie le rôle au cours du développement de trois protéines impliquées dans le développement de dysplasies corticales (Eml1, Caspr2, Dcx), et les conséquences de mutations identifiées chez des patients.

Résumé

Nos projets de recherche se concentrent sur l'étude de trois protéines affectées par des mutations dans le cadre de malformations cérébrales ou d'anomalies corticales plus subtiles chez l'homme. Les malformations corticales constituent une cause fréquente d'épilepsie résistante aux traitements et de déficience intellectuelle. Des anomalies plus subtiles ont potentiellement un impact sur la manifestation d'épilepsies idiopathiques, d'épilepsies des lobes temporaux moyens et de troubles neuropsychiatriques. Les défauts corticaux peuvent résulter d'anomalies de prolifération, de migration et/ou de connectivité neuronale. Nos études sont concentrées sur les trois protéines Eml1, Caspr2 et Dcx, comme points d'entrée pour mieux comprendre le développement cortical normal et sa physiopathologie. Nous avons identifié des mutations de la protéine Eml1, impliquée dans la dynamique des microtubules, dans des cas d'hétérotopies sous-corticales sévères, avec une localisation anormale de neurones dans la substance blanche. Cependant son rôle dans le développement cortical est actuellement inconnu. Nous étudions les fonctions d'Eml1 dans les progéniteurs neuronaux et les neurones post-mitotiques de souris, dans le but d'identifier de nouveaux mécanismes conduisant à l'hétérotopie. Des mutations de Caspr2, une protéine d'adhérence, ont été identifiées dans un large spectre de maladies incluant l'épilepsie et l'autisme. Le rôle de la protéine Caspr2 dans l'organisation des nœuds de Ranvier est bien caractérisé mais ses fonctions neurodéveloppementales ont été peu étudiées. Cette dernière pourrait jouer un rôle essentiel dans les propriétés adhésives des neurones en migration et au cours de la formation des synapses au niveau du segment initial, hypothèses que nous testons. Nous étudions également les conséquences des mutations identifiées chez les patients sur ces fonctions. DCX, une protéine associée aux microtubules, est mutée dans des cas d'hétérotopies et d'anomalies sévères de gyration du cerveau telles que les lissencéphalies. Les souris inactivées pour Dcx constituent un excellent modèle pour étudier les problèmes de connectivité et l'hyperexcitabilité des neurones, associés à des défauts de migration, à l'épilepsie et à des anomalies de comportement. L'étude des souris mutantes et des mutations identifiées chez les patients (en collaboration avec des cliniciens) pour ces trois protéines devrait apporter des informations nouvelles sur les causes et les conséquences des anomalies de localisation et de connectivité neuronales associées aux malformations corticales et aux maladies neuropsychiatriques.

Projets de recherche

Les malformations corticales sont une cause fréquente d'épilepsies résistantes aux traitements et de déficits intellectuels1. Au moins 40% des patients souffrant d'épilepsie intraitable présentent de sévères malformations corticales, et le nombre d'anomalies plus subtiles est probablement sous-estimé dans les cas d'épilepsies idiopathiques2, d'épilepsies des lobes temporaux moyens3 et les maladies neuropsychiatriques (e.g.4 et voir ci-dessous). Les défauts corticaux peuvent résulter d'une prolifération, migration et/ou connectivité neuronale anormale, et de nombreux gènes neurodéveloppementaux jouent un rôle au niveau de ces différentes étapes. De façon intéressante, certains gènes mutés sont associés soient à des malformations sévères soient à des anomalies plus subtiles chez les patients, en fonction de la mutation. Les mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires impliqués dans le développement cortical, et la physiopathologie associée aux mutations, restent à être élucider. Nous avons choisi de nous concentrer sur le rôle de trois protéines (Eml1, Caspr2 et Dcx) qui, lorsqu'elles sont mutées chez les patients, sont associées à un spectre de défauts de migration neuronale (dysplasie corticale). Nous utilisons ces protéines comme points d'entrée pour mieux comprendre les étapes clés du développement cortical normal et pathologique. Nous complétons aussi des études sur deux autres protéines (Tuba1a et SCHIP-1), impliquées dans les mêmes processus.
Nous avons récemment identifié Eml1, une protéine vésiculaire liée aux microtubules, mutée dans des cas d'hétérotopies sub-corticales caractérisés par la présence de neurones localisés de façon anormale dans la substance blanche (Kielar* Phan Dinh Tuy*, 2014). Le rôle de Eml1 dans le développement cortical n'a pas été étudié jusqu'à ce jour et les voies intracellualires dans lesquelles elle est impliquée sont peu connues. Nous étudions le rôle de Eml1 dans les progéniteurs neuronaux et les neurones post-mitotiques de souris, et les mécanismes conduisant à l'hétérotopie sub-corticale (Projet 1). Des mutations du gène CNTNAP2 codant pour la protéine d'adhésion Caspr2, ont également été identifiées récemment dans un spectre large et croissant de maladies neurodéveloppementales incluant le syndrome d'épilepsie « cortical dysplasia-focal epilepsy » (CDFE)5 et l'autisme6. Le rôle de Caspr2 dans la formation des contacts axogliaux au niveau des noeuds de Ranvier est bien connu, mais ses fonctions au cours du développement ont été peu étudiées. Nous évaluons les fonctions de Caspr2 au cours de la migration neuronale et de la synaptogénèse, et les conséquences des variants de CNTNAP2 identifiés chez les patients sur ces fonctions (Projet 2). DCX, une protéine associée aux microtubules (MAP), est mutée dans des cas d'hétérotopies sub-corticales avec des anomalies sévères de gyration8,9. Nous étudions les neurones positionnés de façon aberrante, l'origine de l'hyperexitabilité et les anomalies de comportement des souris invalidées pour le gène Dcx (KO) (Projet 3).

Projet 1 : Caractérisation du rôle de la protéine Eml1, mutée chez les souris HeCo, dans les progéniteurs neuronaux et les neurones post-mitotiques

Les résultats de la littérature suggéraient jusqu'à récemment que l'hétérotopie était principalement la conséquence directe de défauts de migration des neurones corticaux. Eml1 est exprimée dans les neurones post-mitotiques et dans les cellules en division. Des progéniteurs présentant une localisation ectopique ont été identifiés au niveau du cortex des souris HeCo présentant une mutation du gène Eml1 (Fig 1). Les cellules gliales radiaires (RG) sont des neurones progéniteurs extrêmement importants lors de la corticogénèse, qui donnent naissance à d'autres sous-types de progéniteurs et de neurones post-mitotiques, et servent de guides pour les neurones en migration (Fig 1)10. Des anomalies primaires des cellules gliales radiaires pourraient en conséquence être la cause de l'hétérotopie observée chez les souris HeCo et chez les patients présentant une mutation du gène EML1.

Notre objectif principal est d'évaluer la fonction de Eml1 et d'explorer comment sa perturbation peut conduire au détachement cellulaire, aux anomalies de localisation des progéniteurs et de migration des neurones.
Nos objectifs spécifiques sont : (a) D'étudier la fonction de Eml1 liée aux microtubules et d'identifier de nouvelles protéines partenaires qui peuvent apporter des indices sur son rôle biologique; (b) D'investiger the rôle of Eml1 au cours de la division et migration neuronale, et les phénotypes correspondant des cerveaux de souris au niveau desquels l'expression de Eml1 est invalidée.

team2-1Fig 1. (a,b) Hétérotopie et accumulation cellulaire dans les régions dorso-médianes de cerveau de souris HeCo. Coloration Nissl de coupes de cerveaux montrant la présence de deux bandes de neurones hétérotopiques sub -corticaux chez les souris HeCo (# b) par rapport au souris sauvages (a). (c) Schéma du cortex en développement. Les corps cellulaires des cellules RG (rouge) sont localisés dans la couche VZ et leurs prolongements s'étendent vers la surface piale. Bleu, autres progéniteurs ; vert, cellules en division. (d) L'électroporation in utero d'un vecteur permettant l'expression de Eml1 (BLBP–Eml1–IRES–EGFP) au niveau de la région VZ de cerveaux d'embryons HeCo (jour embryonnaire 14.5, analysé à E15.5) conduit à une réduction du nombre de progéniteurs BLBP–EGFP+ dans les couches SVZ/IZ. (e) Schéma des plans de clivage vertical et oblique lors de la division cellulaire. Un excès de clivages obliques est observé au niveau des cerveaux de souris HeCo qui va vraisemblablement mener à un détachement de certaines cellules filles.

Projet 2 : Caractérisation des rôles développementaux de Caspr2

De nombreuses anomalies génétiques (chromosomiques et mutations faux-sens hétérozygotes; altérations homozygotes) du gène CNTNAP2 ont été reportées comme étant des facteurs de susceptibilité chez des patients atteints de retard de langage, d'autisme, de syndrome de Gilles de la Tourette, d'épilepsie, de CDFE, de schizophrénie et de déficience intellectuelle sévère5,6,12-15. Les analyses des souris invalidées pour l'expression de Cntnap2 (Cntnap2-/-) ont révélé des altérations de migration des neurones de projection corticaux et un nombre réduit d'interneurones GABAergiques, associés à une activité corticale asynchrone et des crises d'épilepsie16. Caspr2 semble donc jouer un rôle critique dans la migration neuronale. De plus Caspr2 est enrichie au niveau des segments initiaux axonaux (SIA) des cellules pyramidales du cortex temporal humain (Fig 2) qui jouent le rôle de sites d'initiation des potentiels d'action et sont des intégrateurs majeurs des évènements synaptiques régulant l'excitabilité17,18. Dans le cortex cérébral des mammifères, les SIA sont en contact avec les axones des interneurones GABAergiques de type Chandelier exprimant la parvalbumine. De fait, Caspr2 pourrait également intervenir dans la mise en place et/ou la fonction des synapses entre les SIA des cellules pyramidales et les cellules Chandelier, et les mutations identifiées chez les patients pourraient conduire à une hyperexcitabilité et un dysfonctionnement du réseau neuronal.

Notre objectif principal est d'investiguer les rôles essentiels de Caspr2 dans les neurones immatures, en profitant de la disponibilité des souris Cntnap2-/- au laboratoire.
Nos objectifs spécifiques sont de: (a) Caractériser les fonctions cellulaires et moléculaires fondamentales de Capsr2 au cours de la migration neuronale et de la synaptogénèse par des approches combinées in vivo (électroporation in utero) et in vitro (cultures de neurones primaires et de tranches de cerveaux ; immunohistochimie et vidéomicroscopie ; biochimie) ; (b) Déterminer les conséquences pathologiques des mutations identifiées chez les patients sur ces différentes fonctions.

team2-2Fig 2. (A) Complexes moléculaires du SIA composés de canaux ioniques (Nav, KCNQ2-3, Kv1), de molécules d'adhésion cellulaire et de protéines d'échaffaudage du cytosquelette (adapté à partir de 17) (B). Immunolocalisation des canaux Nav et de Caspr2 (flèches) au niveau du SIA d'une cellule pyramidale du cortex temporal humain. (C) Photomicrographies montrant les SIA de cellules pyramidales marqués pour les canaux Nav (Na+ Ch), les sous-unités Kv1.2 et le transporteur du GABA GAT-1. (B, C, adapté à partir de 19).

 

 

 

 

Projet 3 : Identification des origines, caractéristiques et conséquences de l'hyperexcitabilité des cellules invalidées pour l'expression du gène Dcx (Dcx KO)

Tous les modèles murins de lissencephalie de type I présentent comme caractéristiques communes une hétérotopie hippocampique et des défauts d'interneurones plus généralisée (20-24 et observations non publiées). Chez les souris Dcx KO, les cellules pyramidales de la région CA3 de l'hippocampe présentent une localisation anormale (Fig 3) associée à une forme dendritique altérée, des anomalies subtiles de connectivité des fibres moussues, une hyperexcitabilité et une épilepsie spontanée25,26. Notre hypothèse est que la position anormale, la connectivité aberrante et les anomalies intrinsèques des cellules Dcx KO contribuent à l'excitabilité. Les mécanismes exacts conduisant à ce phénotype, et plus généralement aux défauts de comportement et neuropsychiatriques des souris Dcx KO, ne sont pas encore clairs.
Notre objectif principal est de réaliser une caractérisation précise de la connectivité des cellules hétérotopiques en lien avec l'épilepsie et les anomalies comportementales, en utilisant les souris Dcx KO comme modèle de choix.
Nos objectifs spécifiques sont de: (a) Déterminer l'origine des défauts de connectivité des neurones Dcx KO; (b) D'identifier les facteurs intrinsèques affectant leur fonction anormale; (c) Evaluer les bases cellulaires des anomalies de comportement; (d) Développer des stratégies visant à réduire l'hyperexcitabilité cellulaire.

team2-3

Fig 3. Hippocampal heterotopia in Dcx KO mice. Two CA3 pyramidal cell layers (internal and external) are observed and hyperexcitability is associated with both layers26. Fig 3. Hétérotopie hippocampique chez les souris Dcx KO. Deux couches (interne et externe) de cellules pyramidales CA3 sont observées et l'hyperexcitabilité est associée aux deux couches26.

References

1 Guerrini, R., Dobyns, W.B., & Barkovich, A.J. (2008) Trends Neurosci 31, 154-162.
2 Ben-Ari, Y. (2008) Trends Neurosci 31, 626-636.
3 Sloviter, R.S., Kudrimoti, H.S., Laxer, K.D. et al. (2004) Epilepsy Res 59, 123-153.
4 Kamiya, A., Kubo, K., Tomoda, T. et al. (2005) Nat Cell Biol 7, 1167-1178.
5 Strauss, K.A., Puffenberger, E.G., Huentelman, M.J. et al. (2006) N Engl J Med 354, 1370-1377.
6 Penagarikano, O. & Geschwind, D.H. (2012) Trends Mol Med 18, 156-163.
7 Susuki, K. & Rasband, M.N. (2008) Curr Opin Cell Biol 20, 616-623.
8 des Portes, V., Pinard, J.M., Billuart, P. et al. (1998) Cell 92, 51-61.
9 Francis, F., Koulakoff, A., Boucher, D. et al. (1999) Neuron 23, 247-256.
10 Noctor, S.C., Martinez-Cerdeno, V., & Kriegstein, A.R. (2007) Novartis Found Symp 288, 59-73; discussion 73-58, 96-58.
11 Hansen, D.V., Lui, J.H. Parker, P.R.L., & Kriegstein, A.R. (2010) Nature 464, 554-561.
12 Verkerk, A.J., Mathews, C.A., Joosse, M. et al. (2003) Genomics 82, 1-9.
13 Friedman, J.I., Vrijenhoek, T., Markx, S. et al. (2008) Mol Psychiatry 13, 261-266.
14 Zweier, C., de Jong, E.K., Zweier, M. et al. (2009) Am J Hum Genet 85, 655-666.
15 Gregor, A., Albrecht, B., Bader, I. et al. (2011) BMC Med Genet 12, 106.
16 Penagarikano, O., Abrahams, B.S., Herman, E.I. et al. (2011) Cell 147, 235-246.
17 Rasband, M.N. (2010) Nat Rev Neurosci 11, 552-562.
18 Kole, M.H. & Stuart, G.J. (2012) Neuron 73, 235-247.
19 Inda, M.C., DeFelipe, J., & Munoz, A. (2006) Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 103, 2920-2925.
20 Corbo, J.C., Deuel, T.A., Long, J.M. et al. (2002) J Neurosci 22, 7548-7557.
21 Kappeler, C., Saillour, Y., Baudoin, J.P. et al. (2006) Hum Mol Genet 15, 1387-1400.
22 Fleck, M.W., Hirotsune, S., Gambello, M.J. et al. (2000) J Neurosci 20, 2439-2450.
23 Nasrallah, I.M., McManus, M.F., Pancoast, M.M. et al. (2006) J Comp Neurol 496, 847-858.
24 Keays, D.A., Tian, G., Poirier, K. et al. (2007) Cell 128, 45-57.
25 Nosten-Bertrand, M., Kappeler, C., Dinocourt, C. et al. (2008) PLoS One 3, e2473.
26 Bazelot, M., Simonnet, J., Dinocourt, C. et al. (2012) Eur J Neurosci 35, 244-256.

Composition de l'équipe

  • Fiona Francis, DR1 CNRS (PhD, HDR)
  • Laurence Goutebroze, CR1 CNRS (PhD, HDR)
  • Marika Nosten-Bertrand, CR1 CNRS (PhD)
  • Marta Garcia, MC UPMC (PhD)
  • Richard Belvindrah, MC UPMC (PhD)
  • Anne Houllier, AI INSERM
  • Gael Grannec, TR UPMC
  • Sara Bizzotto, Etudiante en thèse
  • Ana Uzquiano-Lopez, Etudiante en thèse
  • Giorgia Canali, Etudiante en thèse
  • Melissa Stouffer, Stagiaire post-doctorale
  • Delfina Romero, Stagiaire post-doctorale

Collaborations

  • N. Bahi-Buisson Hôpital Necker Paris France
  • J Chelly Institut Cochin Paris France
  • F Artiguenave CNG Evry France
  • A Depaulis Institut de Neurosciences (GIN) Grenoble France
  • A Houdusse Institut Curie Paris France
  • R Miles / J-C Poncer CR-ICM / IFM Paris France
  • R Olaso CNG Evry France
  • C. Legay Paris 5 Paris France
  • V Borrell Institute Neuroscience Alicante Spain
  • A Croquelois, E Welker
  • C Lebrand DBCM Lausanne Switzerland
  • D Keays IMP Vienna Austria
  • C Moores Birkbeck College London UK
  • R Bayliss University of Leicester Leicester UK
  • C Depienne ICM Paris France
  • C Faivre-Sarrailh CRN2M Marseille France
  • B Dargent CRN2M Marseille France

Financements

ANR, EU-DESIRE project. Fondation Bettencourt Schueller, Partenariat Hubert Curien (al Maqdisi), Fondation Jérôme Lejeune, Fondation Orange, Labex Bio-Psy

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Twitter